//
you're reading...
Media Psychology

Our Time is Now


It is every day now, that I think about what is going on in this world today.  The things everyone complains about.  They all are the blooms of established culture and humans have been the gardeners.  We stand here so helpless and quick to keep walking from a nudge.  Every day I wonder when our generation will get the hell up and figure out something for ourselves.

The previous generations were trend setters for their times, do you not see that? That time is over. Today, we have the Internet.  Today, we have mobile computing and global social networking. Honestly, what the hell are we doing?  Do we intend to keep things the way they are and continue with this thing that “they” built?  I still remember when I had to show my parents how to execute simple wiring on a TV, why can we not show them how to do something now?

Those of our past had been working with the knowledge they had at the time, this is clear. They had difficulty communicating effectively and seeing the planet, not just the world.  But today, we see more than they had seen.  We have learned that we are all alike.

Let us face it, our misconceptions are not innate.

We must realize that our opinions could have been different, depending our childhood.  But now, these next generations will be interconnected via the Internet and the world-view will change drastically.  Therefore, I believe our role is to aid in the world’s progress towards individuality and freedom via the web.  We need not continue with the old ways of doing things, when we relied on unbreakable chains of command.  Today, we can intercommunicate and organize ourselves.

Instead of not using our own born ability, instead of playing by rules set a noticeably long time ago, I believe we should do things ourselves and let the past generations take a break.  Is there a rule that mandates doing things so slowly?

About Mike Friedman

I am a student in New York City, currently pursuing a masters in Social-Organizational Psychology at Teachers College, Columbia University. I am deeply passionate about psychology and very much interested in starting a business, and that is what drove me to pick up from Florida and begin studying in the greatest city on earth! I am forever a student and I am searching for an opportunity to practice my knowledge in an application setting. I am ready to activate my full potential for an employer that is interested in tapping my potential or working together with people that share my vision for a productive and engaging work setting!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

